top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStacy Hepburn

Where's my parachute?!!

Updated: May 4, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to read my first blog with SOAR 40:31! This journey began in December of 2015. I attended a conference in Orlando, FL. God was moving powerfully. I told the Lord I will give him my all. The power of God hit me in a way I never experienced. Once I returned to New York, I fell into my usual routine but everything felt different. I felt a burden for every student and person I encountered for several months. I was compelled by the Holy Spirit to apply to ministry school.

I moved to North Carolina, and became a full-time student at FIRE School of Ministry. I thought I would constantly hear the Lord's voice in North Carolina. I was wrong! I felt as if I was deployed from an aircraft without a parachute. I was looking for that parachute y'all. There were moments I questioned myself for jumping. I wanted to slow down and pump the brakes. I wanted to have some say in how I would land. I learned quickly that God does not work that way. There are times in the valley where you have to hold onto the word you received on the mountaintop. In October of 2019. I heard him speak again. He said, “Apply with FIRE International (FI) and become a missionary immediately.” I left that prayer meeting quicker than Usain Bolt, and contacted FI that afternoon. During my interview at FI, I simply said, “I have come across youth and families. Their lives are being transformed by the power of God. One by one they have made the decision to follow Jesus, and changed significantly. I have no idea what the Lord wants me to do, but I believe it has something to do with these girls.” I spent time in prayer, and the Lord made it clear to remain in North Carolina and to name my project SOAR 40:31, based off of Isaiah 40:31. I thank the Lord for placing me on this incredible journey of faith. Are there tears? Yes! Am I afraid at times? Yes! Sometimes there are moments of fear when you step out into the unknown, but knowing God is on my side helps me persevere. I did not find my parachute, because I never needed one! I think of Psalm 91:4 which states, “He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.” I never needed a parachute all along. God was with me the entire time. This is just the beginning of the great things which are to come. If this blog encouraged you, please send an email to riseandshine4031@gmail.com. I would love to hear your story, and pray with you in any way I can. Love and Blessings, Stacy <3

32 views0 comments
bottom of page